Milefield Primary School, Milefield Lane, Grimethorpe, Barnsley, S72 7BH

01226 710 329


Milefield Primary School

Spread your wings and soar to success

Meet Milefield's Governing Body

Our Governing Body does not use committees, all decisions are taken to the full governing body.
Your current Governing Body consists of:
Chair of Governors: Mrs. Jeanette Fewster

I was elected as Chair of Governors 31st January 2018.I am involved in school as much as I can and since my retirement four years ago I like to help some of our younger children with their reading skills with the result that I am now a big fan of Chip, Kipper, Biff and Floppy the dog and all their adventures! In my working life I was a civil servant for thirty four years but have also worked at "Mr Kipling" and spent time as a dental nurse. I am a season ticket holder at Barnsley Football Club and when I am not at Oakwell I like to read, go walking and do a bit of travelling.


Mrs Fewster is responsible for: Teaching and learning; E-Safety; Safeguarding; Behaviour and Equality Duty. Mrs Fewster is also attends SISG meetings.

Mrs Fewster has no business interests registered.

Vice Chair of Governors: Mr Peter Steadman
Parent Governor: Mrs Donna Selwood

My name is Donna Selwood and I’m the parent governor at Milefield Primary School , im a retired foster carer and I have 3 children who attend Milefield , I enjoy listening to music and quality time with my family ( husband Gary , 18 year old daughter Molly , Logan , Marcie ,John and Bobby our dog.


Mrs Selwood is responsible for: Parent view questionnaires; PTFA.

Mrs Selwood has no business interests registered.


Parent Governor: Vacancy


Staff Governor/Acting Headteacher: Mrs Karen Trickett

Mrs Trickett became Acting Head when Ms Murray began Maternity Leave in September 2017.

Mrs Trickett is responsible for teaching and learning, staffing, safeguarding, behaviour, wellbeing, e-safety and Equality Duty.

Mrs Trickett is married to our school music teacher, Mr Trickett. She has no other interests registered.


Staff Governor: Mrs. Sue King 

Mrs King works in the office at Milefield Primary School.

I have been a Governor at Milefield for over 20 years and have worked here since it opened. I love it and see it as part of me. I enjoy reading and crosswords and an occasional game of bingo with my friends. My passion is the east coast and I travel there as often as I can but my most favourite thing in my life is my family especially my four grandchildren who I love more than anything. 

Mrs King has no registered business interests.

Associate Governor: Mr. James McClure

I became Deputy Headteacher of Milefield Primary in September 2017. I studied Primary teaching and ICT for 4 years at York St. John University and graduated in 2008. I then started my career at Churchfield Primary School in Cudworth where I worked for six years. In these six years I worked with Y3/4, Y2 and Y5/6. I also led computing and Maths across the school. I then moved to Wakefield Greenhill Primary School as an assistant headteacher where I was the SENCO and Literacy lead for 2 years. Following this time, I went to Australia and New Zealand travelling in a 6 month career break. When I returned home, I went back to Wakefield to be a class teacher for 6 months before securing the position I am in now.

I love to visit the cinema and love nothing more than spending time with family and friends in my own time. 

Mr McClure is responsible for: Teaching and learning, assessment, online safety, computing, behaviour and safeguarding.

Mr McClure has no registered business interests.

Co opted Governor: Pastor Joy Gasgoine

I’ve lived and worked in Grimethorpe for many years, and remain committed to seeing new development and progress right across Barnsley. I’ve been involved in a number of local schools but also travelled to Eastern Europe, India, Africa and USA in the course of my work. I have little spare time but could happily take up eating chocolate as a hobby!

Pastor Joy has no registered business interests.
Co opted Governor: Mr. Terry Haynes
Mr Haynes has no registered business interests.


Co-opted Governor: Miss Sara Barnett

Miss Barnett is responsible for: Teaching and Learning and assessment.
Miss Barnett has no registered business interests.
The Governors are also supported by a Clerk to the governing body provided by the Local Authority.
The Governing Body Constitution requires that the Governing Body of the school be made up as follows:

x 3 Parent Governors (elected from the school parental population)

x2 Staff Governors

x3 Co-opted Governors

x1 Local Authority (Barnsley Metropolitan Council appointed) Governors

We currently have the following positions vacant on our Governing Body:
Parent Governors (x2)  
If you are interested in applying to join our Governing Body please click here.
Alternatively, you can speak to Mrs King in the school office Monday-Wednesday.