Milefield Primary School is part of Hoyland Common Academy Trust having converted on 1st July 2021. Following academy conversion a transitional board of governors will remain in place for the academic year 2021-22. The Chair of Governors is Peter Bell. Contact can be made via email at:

The Trustee link Governor for Milefield Primary is Alan Richards. For further information in relation to HCAT & Board of Trustees please click here.

The Role of the Governing Body

 Effective governance is based on six key features:
– Strategic leadership that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy.
– Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance.
– People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity.
– Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities.
– Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements.
– Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance.

The Governing Body works in partnership with Milefield Primary to support the strategic leadership of the school and ensure the continuation of rapid and sustained improvement. Governors work effectively with senior leaders to uphold the school vision and core values, ensuring the best possible education and outcomes for pupils.

The 3 core strategic functions of the Governing Body are:
• Ensure the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school
• Hold the Headteacher and senior leadership team to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
• Oversee the financial performance of the school

Milefield Primary School Governing Body comprises of of co-opted governors, parent governors, staff governors and a trustee link. Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of reference for each Governor. The term in office for each governor is 4 years from 4/10/21 – 3/10/25.

Please follow link for Governors’ register of business interest: Register of Business Interest HCAT September 2021

As this is a newly formed LGB/transitional board, we are currently in the process of electing a Vice Chair & allocating governor roles and responsibilities as follows:

  • Standards & Outcomes
  • Curriculum/ Teaching & Learning
  • Safeguarding, Behaviour & Attendance
  • Pupil Premium & SEND
  • Health & Safety
  • EYFS
  • SMSC & Wellbeing

Our Current LGB consists of:

Chair of Governors – Mr Peter Bell (Co-opted)

Mr Bell is governor on two other local boards across Barnsley. He is contactable via the email address:

Trustee Link – Mr Alan Richards

Mr Richards is a trustee from HCAT with many years experience and is a National Leader of Governance (NLG). He sits on our LGB to strengthen the link between the trust and the school.

Co-opted Governor – Mrs Sally Bean (Co-opted)

Mrs Bean is a full time teacher in a Barnsley primary school. She trained to be a secondary Science teacher and eventually moved into primary teaching. She now leads ECTs, early reading and Phonics in her current school. She is also member of the governing body at the school. She is contactable via the chair of governor’s email (above) please place FAO Sally Bean in subject.

Parent Governor – Mr David King 

Mr King worked in schools as a teacher a few years ago and is now a parent at Milefield Primary school of two pupils. He also works as a swimming teacher to children.

Parent Governor – Miss Victoria Robinson 

Miss Robinson works for the NHS as a medical secretary. Works in primary care mainly but also some secondary care. She also works within safeguarding as part of these roles. She is parent to a pupil at our school.

Teaching Staff Representative – Mr James McClure

James is the Deputy Head at Milefield Primary School. He oversees Teaching and Learning, Literacy and Early Career teachers. He was voted on the board by staff at Milefield.


Non-Teaching Staff Representative – Miss Leyan Jones

Leyan is the lead of pupil welfare and attendance throughout school. She is parent liasion within school. She was voted on the board by staff at Milefield.